Free WordPress Course by Lynda.com!


Whenever I ask people why they have their blogs on Tumblr or Blogger, they tell me “WordPress is too complicated for me, I just couldn’t wrap my head around it”. In some ways that is indeed the way WordPress is. It is rather complicated. I remember years ago when I started my first WordPress blog, it took me 2 whole days to get the hang of it. Years later, I consider myself an expert at using it, but that is due to the hundreds of hours I have spent on WordPress. So, yes, I do understand people when they complain about WordPress being too complicated for their needs. However complicated also means complex and powerful. There is nothing, and I mean N O T H I N G better than WordPress out there! That is why you should not give up on WordPress so easily and go for other blogging solutions, that are less powerful and less customizable. But you don’t have 2 days – or even more if you’re not very tech-savvy – to learn it…

Luckily enough, Lynda.com has started a new trend of really rewarding their Facebook fans, with free offers. This time it’s a free WordPress course, a little over 6 hours long. Now, that’s way less than my 2 days I have spent on learning it! What’s nice about the course is that it teaches you how to use it, but also introduces you to troubleshooting techniques, and improvement solutions, some of which – like embedding Disqus comment system – is news even for me. Now, that being said, do make sure you watch the course by the end of August the 24th 2012. Since that includes the weekend, I’m sure you’ll find the time to watch it. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

